APA California Board


The APA California Board of Directors represents the breadth and geographic diversity of planning in California. The Board consists of 20 elected Board members and Section Directors with staggered terms, as well as many appointed Board members charged with implementing specific Board tasks, from the annual awards program to AICP Certification Maintenance activities. The Board meets three times a year at various locations in the state. Please view our Board Roster for a full list of Voting and Appointed Members.

Executive Board

OfficeName/PhoneAddress
President
2 Years
2017 – 2018
Pete Parkinson, AICP
707.326.1265 (w)
pete.parkinson54@gmail.com
Independent Planning Consultant
2555 Bennett Ridge
Santa Rosa CA 95404
Vice President for Administration
2 Years
2016 – 2017
Kristen Asp, AICP
818.937.8161 (w)
818.240.0392 (f)
kasp@glendaleca.gov
City of Glendale
633 E. Broadway, Room 103
Glendale CA 91206
Vice President for Conferences
2 Years
2017- 2018
Hanson Hom, AICP
510.523.0725 (h)
hansonapa@gmail.com
Planning Consultant
135 Creedon Circle
Alameda CA 94502-1404
Vice President for Marketing and Membership
2 Years
2016 - 2017
Greg Konar, AICP
619.84.5601 (w)
gregok@cox.net
Konar Associates
4870 W. Mountain View Drive
San Diego CA 92116
Vice President for Policy and Legislation
2 Years
2017 – 2018
John C. Terell, AICP
jcterell@aol.com
1780 Kettner Boulevard, #503
San Diego CA 92101
Vice President for Professional Development
2 Years
2017- 2018
Kimberly Anne Brosseau, AICP
408.355.2230 (w)
650.965.0540 (f)
kimberly.brosseau@prk.sccgov.org
Santa Clara County
Parks & Recreation Department
298 Garden Hill Drive
Los Gatos CA 95032
Vice President Public for Information
2 Years
2016 – 2017
Marc Yeber, ASLA
323.822.3322 (w)
myplanning@live.com
8262-C Fountain Avenue
West Hollywood CA 90046
Past President
1 Year
2017
Hing Wong, AICP
hing@hingwong.info
P.O. Box 30522
San Ramon CA 94604
California Planning Foundation President
1 Year
2017
Juan Borrelli, AICP
408.975.2655 (w)
juan.borrelli@sanjoseca.gov
City of San José
200 E. Santa Clara Street, 1st Floor
San José CA 95113
Commission and Board Representative
2 Years
2017 - 2018
Stephen Michael Haase, AICP
619.515.9109 (w)
stephenmichaelhaase@gmail.com
City of San Diego
Planning Commission
8245 Lake Ban Avenue
San Diego CA 92119
Student Representative
1 Year
2018
John Holder
john.holder4@gmail.com
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
1570 Oceanside Drive
San Luis Obispo CA 93405
Pico Rivera CA 90660

Section Directors

OfficeName/PhoneAddress
Central
2 Years
Term Expires
12/31/18
Rob Terry, AICP
559.637.4200 Ext. 286 (w)
rob.terry@reedley.ca.gov
City of Reedley
1733 9th Street
Reedley CA 93654
Central Coast
2 Years
Term Expires 12/31/17
Christopher Williamson, AICP
213.509.1213 (c)
cbwplans@gmail.com
731 Channel Islands Drive
Camarillo CA 93012
Inland Empire
2 Years
Term Expires 12/31/18
John E. Hildebrand
951.955.1885 (w)
jhildebr@rctlma.org
Riverside County Planning Department
4080 Lemon Street, 12th Floor
Riverside CA 92501
Los Angeles
2 Years
Term Expires 12/31/19
Ashley Atkinson, AICP
213.978.1196 (w)
atkinson.ashley@gmail.com
5027 El Verano Avenue
Los Angeles CA 90041
Northern
2 Years
Term Expires 12/31/18
Sharon Grewal, AICP
510.670.5428 (w)
510.785.8793 (f)
sharon.grewal@acgov.org
Alameda County
224 W Wilton Avenue, Suite 111
Hayward CA 94544
Orange
2 Years
Term Expires 12/31/17
Amy Stonich, AICP
714.672.9906 (w)
amy.stonich@gmail.com
Sagecrest Planning & Environmental
2400 E. Katella Avenue
Anaheim CA 92806
Sacramento
2 Years
Term Expires 12/31/16
Tricia Stevens, AICP
tricias@surewest.net
MIG, Inc.
1732 41st Street
Sacramento CA 95819
San Diego
2 Years
Term Expires 12/31/18
Rachel A. Hurst, AICP
619.522.7338 (w)
:rhurst@coronado.ca.us
City of Coronado
1825 Strand Way
Coronado CA 92118

Appointed Members

OfficeName/PhoneAddress
AICP Exam Coordinator
VP Professional Development
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2018
Asha Bleier, AICP
760-479-4858 (w)
asha.bleier@gmail.com

Dudek
3675 Trenton Avenue
San Diego CA 92117
Cal Planner
Assistant Editor
VP Public Information
Sep 1, 2016 - Dec 31, 2018
Ellie Fiore, AICP
510.845.7549 (w)
510.845.8750 (f)
ellief@migcom.com
MIG, Inc.
800 Hearst Avenue
Berkeley CA 94710
Chapter Historian
Northern California
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2017
J. Laurence Mintier, FAICP
916.764.6700 (w)
916.446.7520 (f)
mintierassociates@gmail.com
Mintier & Associates
1600 Parkridge Road
Sacramento CA 95822
Chapter Historian
Southern California
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2017
Steven A. Preston, FAICP
626.308.2805 (w)
626.458.2830 (f)
spreston@sgch.org
City of San Gabriel
425 S. Mission Drive
San Gabriel CA 91776-1253
Conference Program Coordinator
1 Year
Kacey Lizon
916.341.6265 (w)
916.321.9551 (f)
klizon@sacog.org
Sacramento Area of Governments
1415 L Street, Suite 300
Sacramento CA 95814
FAICP Co-Coordinator
VP Professional
Development
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2018
Al Zelinka, FAICP
951.333.1482 (w)
azelinka@riversideca.org
City of Riverside
3900 Main Street
Riverside CA 92522
FAICP Co-Coordinator
VP Professional
Development
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2018
Kurt Christiansen, FAICP
626.812.5236 (w)
626.334.5464 (f)
kchristiansen@ci.azusa.ca.us
City of Azusa
213 E. Foothill Blvd.
P.O. Box 1395
Azusa CA 91702-1395
Membership Inclusion
Coordinator
Northern California
VP Marketing and Membership
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2017
Miroo Desai, AICP
510.596.3785 (w)
510.658.8095 (f)
mdesai@emeryville.org
City of Emeryville
4112 Shafter Avenue, #3
Oakland CA 94609
Membership Inclusion Coordinator
Southern California
VP Marketing and Membership
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2017
Erica Gutierrez
213.974.6462 (w)
egutierrez@planning.lacounty.org
County of Los Angeles Department of Regional Planning
320 W. Temple Street
Los Angeles CA 90012
National Policy and Legislation
Representative
VP Policy and Legislation
4 Years
2016 – 2020
Christopher I. Koontz, AICP
562.570.6288 (w)
christopherkoontz@longbeach.gov
City of Long Beach
3842 E. Wilton Street
Long Beach CA 90804
Statewide Program Coordinator
VP Professional Development
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2018
Pamela Wu, AICP
408.299.5775 (w)
pamela.wu@pln.sccgov.org
County of Santa Clara Department of Planning and Development
70 West Hedding Street
San Jose CA 95110
State Awards Coordinator Northern California
VP Administration
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2018
Michael Isle, AICP
916.484.3237 (w)
916.296.2244 (f)
misle@teichert.com
Teichert Land Company/ Stoneridge Properties
3500 American River
Sacramento CA 95864
State Awards Coordinator
Southern California
VP Administration
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2018
Andre Sahakian, AICP
310-285-1127 (w)
andre.sahakian@gmail.com
City of Beverly Hills
455 North Rexford Drive
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
Technology Coordinator
VP Public Information
1 Year
Vacant
University Liaison
Northern California
VP Marketing and Membership
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2017
Julia Lave Johnston
julialavejohnston@gmail.com
1723 11th Avenue
Sacramento CA 95818
University Liaison
Southern California
VP Marketing and Membership
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2017
Nicholas Chen, AICP
714.786.6111 (w)
nick.chen@kimley-horn.com
Kimley-Horn Associates
765 The City Drive South
Orange CA 92868
Young Planners
Coordinator
VP Marketing and Membership
Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2017
Nina Idemudia
734.271.4796 (c)
ninaidemudia@gmail.com
City of Los Angeles
200 Spring Street
Los Angeles CA 90012

Non-Voting Members

OfficeName/PhoneAddress
APA National Board
Representative, Region 6
4 Years
2014 – 2017
Kurt Christiansen, FAICP
626.937.5236 (w)
626.334.5464 (f)
kchristiansen@ci.azusa.ca.us
City of Azusa
213 E. Foothill Blvd.
P.O. Box 1395
Azusa CA 91702-1395
AICP Commissioner,
Region 6
4 Years
2014 – 2017
Marissa Aho, AICP
marissaaho@gmail.com
Chief Resilience Officer
Office of Mayor Eric Garcetti
City of Los Angeles
APA Student Representative,
Region 6
2 Years
2016 - 2017
Lance MacNiven
310.948.5666 (w)
lancemacniven@gmail.com
WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Los Angeles CA
Planner Emeritus
Network President
2 Years
2017 – 2018
Robert Paternoster, FAICP
robertpaternoster@yahoo.com
448 N. Bellflower Blvd., Suite 303
Long Beach CA 90814
California Planning Roundtable President
2 Years
2017 - 2018
Coleen Clementson, AICP
619.669.1944 (w)
619.595.5305 (f)
coleen.clementson@sandag.org
San Diego Association of Governments
401 B Street, Suite 800
San Diego CA 92101

Staff & Contractors

OfficeName/PhoneAddress
Executive Director & Lobbyist, Director of Administration Sande George
916.443.5301 (w)
916.443.3494 (f)
sgeorge@stefangeorge.com
Stefan/George Associates
925 L Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95814
Executive Assistant
& Lobbyist
Lauren De Valencia y Sanchez
916.443.5301 (w)
916.443.3494 (f)
lauren@stefangeorge.com
Stefan/George Associates
925 L Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95814
Association, Conference and Accounting ServicesFrancine Farrell
916.226.5512 (w)
916.896.1918 (f)
ategoresources@live.com
ATEGO Resources
P.O. Box 1733
Elk Grove, CA 95759
Association and Certification
Maintenance Services
Laura Murphy
916.540.7196 (w)
nhe2011@live.com
New Horizon Enterprise
606 Gregory Court
Roseville, CA 95661
Newsletter ProductionDorina Blythe
951.775.6750 (w)
dorina@grandesigns.us
GranDesigns
Temecula, CA
APA California AttorneyMarco A.Martinez
949.263.2600(w)
949.260.0972(f)
marco.martinez@bbklaw.com
Best, Best & Kreiger
5 Park Plaza, Suite 1500
Irvine CA 92614
APA California Professional
Liability Insurance
Marsha L. Bastian
714.997.8100 Ext. 94230 (w)
714.460.9935(f)
marshab@heffins.com
Heffernan Insurance Brokers
1855 W. Katella Avenue, Suite 255
Orange CA 92867
APA California Insurance AgentDick Lemon
916.488.4702 (w)
916.488.2336 (f)
dick@mcclatchyins.com
McClatchy Insurance
2410 Fair Oaks Blvd.
Sacramento, CA 95825
National APA
www.planning.org
Chicago Office
312.431.9100 (w)
312.431.9985 (f)

Washington Office
202.872.0611 (w)
202.872.0643 (f)
205 North Michigan Ave.,
Suite 1200
Chicago IL 60601

1030 15th Street, N.W.
Suite 750 N.W.
Washington DC 20005
Website ManagementDigital Gear
www.digitalgear.com
Digital Gear
11121 Sun Center Drive, Suite M
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
Conference CoordinatorAngie Spearman
858.774.4503 (w)
aspearman@hpnglobal.com
HPN Global