APA California Awards

APA California Awards Applications

are due June 12, 2020 at 5:00 p.m.

Nominations for this year’s APA California Awards Program are now being accepted. The Awards Committee encourages you to submit your outstanding project, program, plan or person for this year’s program. Nominations are due by Friday, June 12, 2020 at 5:00 p.m. Some nominations require a win at the Section level to be eligible for a Chapter award and many other award categories need not win a Section award to qualify. Nominations for a Chapter Award must have first applied at the local Section level where the project, plan or work occurred, unless the award is not offered at the Section level or the project is of significance in multiple Sections.

Submit an Application

APA California 2020 Additional Awards Order form

APA California Awards Program Policies

APA California award categories

Opportunity and Empowerment

Comprehensive Planning: Large Jurisdiction (pop. 100,000+)

Comprehensive Planning: Small Jurisdiction (pop. less than 100,000)

Implementation: Large Jurisdiction (pop. 100,000+)

Implementation: Small Jurisdiction (pop. less than 100,000)

Innovation in Green Community Planning

Economic Planning and Development

Transportation Planning

Best Practices

Grassroots Initiative

Public Outreach

Urban Design

Planning Advocate

Planning Firm (private sector)

Planning Agency (public sector)

Emerging Planning and Design Firm

Advancing Diversity and Social Change


Communications Initiative

Hard-Won Victory

Planning Landmark

Planning Pioneer

Distinguished Service

Distinguished Contribution

Section Activity

Planner Emeritus Network (PEN)

For questions on the Awards Program, please contact:

State Awards Coordinator
Shane Burkhardt, AICP
Environmental Science Associates
2121 Alton Parkway, Suite 1000
Irvine, CA 92606
(949) 870-1542
[email protected]

Vice President for Administration
Derek Wong, AICP
Michael Baker International
2729 Prospect Park Drive, Suite 220
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
(916) 361-8384
[email protected]

Student Scholarship Awards

Each year the California Planning Foundation (CPF) invites planning students to compete for a number of scholarships. Scholarships are offered to students enrolled in eligible planning programs in California (both accredited and non-accredited programs). The scholarship awards are recognized at a special student awards luncheon, hosted by CPF, and held separate from the State Awards luncheon during the conference.  Scholarship information is available on the CPF website.