Amicus Committee Briefs

The APA California Amicus Curiae Committee reviews significant court cases, and when deemed appropriate, files or joins in friend of the court briefs on issues important to planning in California.

The committee is a standing committee consisting of land use attorneys and planners from around the State. The Committee is chaired by Vivian Kahn, and members include David Snow, Al Herson, Tom Jacobson, Barbara Kautz. The Committee always includes the Director of the applicable APA California section in deliberations regarding involvement in cases.

If you have questions regarding the Amicus Committee, or have a case that may be of interest to the Committee, please contact David Snow, Vice President of Policy and Legislation at or Vivian Kahn at

Amicus Committee

Vivian Kahn, Chair
John C. Terrell, AICP
Bill Abbott
Al Herson
Tom Jacobson
Barb KautzVivian Kahn, Chair

Amicus Committee Briefs