Fellows of the American Institute of Certified Planners (FAICP)


Election to Fellow is one of the highest honors that the American Institute of Certified Planners bestows upon a member.

On February 16, 2018, the APA California Chapter was notified that all of their nominees were selected to be inducted into the College of Fellows at the National Planning Conference in April in New Orleans. Congratulations to the following six (6) inductees:

  • Susan Harden, AICP – Orange Section
  • Betsy McCullough, AICP – San Diego Section
  • Kathrin Moore, AICP, Assoc. AIA – Northern Section
  • Carl Morehouse, AICP – Central Coast Section
  • Linda Tatum, AICP – Los Angeles Section
  • Heidi Tschudin, AICP – Sacramento Valley Section

Fellows of AICP are honored in recognition of the achievements of the planner as an individual, elevating the Fellow before the public and the profession as a model planner who has made significant contributions to planning and society. Fellowship is granted to planners who have been members of AICP and have achieved excellence in professional practice, teaching and mentoring, research, public and community service, and leadership. Those chosen become members of the College of Fellows.

The College of Fellows is concerned with mentoring and future advancement of the profession of planning. As outstanding professionals in the field of planning, Fellows of AICP will address student organizations, state APA conferences, and professional development programs.

The AICP College of Fellows nomination process is biennial. Nominations are due during odd-numbered years and each new class is inducted in even-numbered years during the APA National Planning Conference. Candidates for nomination should have made outstanding contributions to the profession throughout their career. They must meet criteria laid out in the national nomination guidelines including: exceptional leadership; innovation and excellence; creating a legacy for their community, profession and society; risk taking; and sustainability and follow-through.

The California Chapter Nominating Committee will work with Sections and current FAICP planners to identify candidates eligible for FAICP status and then work with those interested in pursuing this esteemed recognition in the planning profession.

Do you know someone who is eligible for nomination to the Fellows of the American Institute of Certified Planners that you think should be nominated? That individual should be an active APA member and an AICP planner for at least 15 years. Please forward the individual’s name to your Section Director who will forward to the Chapter Nominating Committee.

The Process

Information regarding the process by nominators and nominees including deadlines can be found here on the National APA website. The generalized timeframe is that eligible candidates are identified through the spring, then work on applications is done through the summer, with submittal of perfected applications by the California Chapter to National APA in the late fall.

Individuals not endorsed for Chapter nomination may be nominated by other avenues: by five FAICP members, or by a Division of APA.

California Chapter FAICP Planners

The California Chapter of APA boasts over 50 FAICP planners. Congratulations! The Chapter is proud to have you among us and is respectful of your accomplishments!

Central Coast
Carl Morehouse
Kenneth Topping

Inland Empire
Al Zelinka

Los Angeles
Kurt Christiansen
Joseph Edmiston
S. Gail Goldberg
Alan Kreditor
Larry Morrison
Robert Paternoster
Steve Preston
Richard Pruetz
Marsha Rood
David Salazar
Donald Shoup
Linda Tatum
Brian Taylor
Richard Willson
Mark Winogrond

Karen Alschuler
David Bess
Fred Collignon
Elaine Costello
Linda Dalton
Jeanette Dinwiddie-Moore
John Dugan
David Early
Ellen Greenberg
Daniel Iacofano
Thomas Jacobson
Laurie Johnson
Vivian Kahn
Barbara Kautz
Naphtali Knox
Dean Macris
Marjorie Macris
George Mader
Barry Miller
Kathrin Moore
Robert Olshansky
Gary Schoennauer
Paul Sedway
Susan Stoddard
Elizabeth Tyler

Robert Dannenbrink
Susan Harden

Al Herson
Celia McAdam
J. Laurence (Larry) Mintier
Janet Ruggiero
Heidi Tschudin

San Diego
William Anderson
John Bridges
S. Gail Goldberg
Robert Leiter
Betsy McCullough
Brian Mooney
Celeste Carmela Werner