# 2018 APA CALIFORNIA AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE

#### **Opportunity and Empowerment Award**

# Arizona Street Development & North Park Seniors

Community Housing Works
Rodriguez Associates, Architects & Planners, Inc.
Sun Country Builders
San Diego LGBT Community Center
City of San Diego
Alliance Residential Co.

### Comprehensive Plan Award, Large Jurisdiction

### The South Los Angeles & Southeast Los Angeles Community Plans

Melissa Alofaituli, City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning Griselda Gonzalez, City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning Jessica Alvarado, City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning Reuben Caldwell, AICP, City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning Craig Weber, City of Los Angeles Department of City Planning

## Comprehensive Plan Award, Small Jurisdiction

## 2035 General Plan, Belmont Village Specific Plan, and Climate Action Plan

City of Belmont
Dyett & Bhatia Urban and Regional Planners
W-Trans
Urban Field Studio
Bottomley Design & Planning
Peter Ingram Consulting

# Implementation Award, Large Jurisdiction

#### Willow Springs Wetlands, City of Long Beach

Meredith Reynolds, City of Long Beach, Department of Parks, Recreation & Marine Mayor Robert Garcia, City of Long Beach
Councilmember Roberto Uranga, City of Long Beach
Jeff Hutchings, Studio MLA
Stephen Scott, City of Long Beach, Department of Parks, Recreation & Marine
Larry Rich, City of Long Beach Office of Sustainability

#### Innovation in Green Community Planning Award

#### Butte County Sustainable Agricultural Lands Conservation (SALC) Strategy

Claudia Stuart, AICP, Butte County Department of Development Services Pete Calarco, Butte County Department of Development Services Jesse Hudson, Butte County Department of Development Services Gabriel Strelecki, Butte County Department of Development Services Nick Bateman, Butte County Department of Development Services Lacey Sanders, Butte County Information Systems

### **Economic Planning and Development Award**

# The City of Sacramento's Central City Specific Plan

Greg Sandlund, City of Sacramento

Tom Pace, City of Sacramento

Ryan DeVore, City of Sacramento

Jim McDonald, City of Sacramento

Harriet Ross, Environmental Science Associates (ESA)

AIM Consulting

**BAE Urban Economics** 

DKS

**EPS** 

Fehr & Peers

Geocon

NV5

Torti Gallas + Partners

### **Transportation Planning Award**

## West Contra Costa High-Capacity Transit Study

West Contra Costa Transportation Advisory Committee Member Agencies Leah Greenblat, West Contra Costa Transportation Advisory Committee Rebecca Kohlstrand, WSP

Contra Costa Transportation Authority

**BART** 

MTC

WSP

Circlepoint

Economic & Planning Systems

Kimley-Horn

Kittelson & Associates

M Lee Corporation

R.L. Banks & Associates

Vallier Design Associates

#### **Best Practices Award**

# Metro Transfers Design Guide

Georgia Sheridan, LA Metro Adam Light, LA Metro Rachelle Andrews, LA Metro Lisa Padilla, Cityworks Design Christina Hon, Cityworks Design Tyler Bonstead, STV

## **Grassroots Initiative Award**

## Pop-Up Care Village

Laura Crescimano, SITELAB urban studio Lava Mae

### **Public Outreach Award**

# SCAG Go Human Tactical Urbanism Demonstration Projects

Stephen Patchan, Southern California Association of Governments Alta Planning + Design Street Plans Collaborative Katherine Padilla & Associates Streetfilms

## **Urban Design Award**

# West Los Angeles VA Campus Master Plan Framework

William H. Fain, Jr., FAIA, Johnson Fain Veterans Advocacy, Inc. U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

### Planning Advocate Award

#### **David Salazar**

David Salazar, California State University Long Beach

### **Planning Agency Award**

### Los Angeles Department of City Planning

Vince Bertoni, AICP Kevin J. Keller, AICP Lisa Webber, AICP

# **Emerging Planning and Design Firm Award**

#### SITELAB urban studio

Laura Crescimano Amit Price Patel Michel St. Pierre Guneet Anand

# Advancing Diversity and Social Change in Honor of Paul Davidoff Award

### **Cannabis Social Equity Program**

City of Los Angeles

# **Academic Award**

# Old Town Urban Design Concept Plan

Dr. Hemalata C. Dandekar, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo Terrence Grindall, City of Newark

# Communication Initiative Award

# The View from Here: Place and Privilege

Joe Barr, Capital Public Radio Jesikah Maria Ross, Capital Public Radio

# **Hard-Won Victories Award**

# Palo Alto Comprehensive Plan Update

Elena Lee, City of Palo Alto PlaceWorks Hexagon Economic & Planning systems

# 2018 APA CALIFORNIA AWARDS OF MERIT

### Opportunity and Empowerment Award

### Disadvantaged Communities Infrastructure and Planning Policy Study

Michael Washam, Tulare County Resource Management Agency Aaron Bock, Tulare County, Resource Management Agency David Bryant, Tulare County, Resource Management Agency Susan Simon, Tulare County, Resource Management Agency Johnson Vant, Tulare County, Resource Management Agency

### Comprehensive Plan Award, Large Jurisdiction

### Propel Vallejo General Plan 2040

Afshan Hamid, City of Vallejo Planning Division Mark Hofheimer, City of Vallejo Planning Division Alex Hinds, Sonoma State University Charlie Knox, PlaceWorks Alea Gage, City of Vallejo

# Comprehensive Plan Award, Small Jurisdiction

### Temple City Mid-Century General Plan and Crossroads Specific Plan

Temple City PlaceWorks

#### Innovation in Green Community Planning Award

## Rancho Cucamonga Sustainable Community Action Plan

Deborah Allen, City of Rancho Cucamonga Melissa Johnson, Raimi & Associates

#### **Economic Planning and Development Award**

## Go Little Tokyo, Neighborhood Marketing Campaign

Midori Mizuhara, Community Arts Resources Chris Komai, Little Tokyo Community Council Jeanmarie Hance, Metro Regional Connector

### **Transportation Planning Award**

# Culver City Transit Oriented Design (TOD) Visioning Study and Recommendations

William H. Fain, Jr., FAIA, Johnson Fain City of Culver City Steer Davies Gleave KOA Corporation

## **Best Practices Award**

### SB 1000 Implementation Toolkit

Tiffany Eng, California Environmental Justice Alliance

# **Public Outreach Award**

### Uptown Open Space Vision Plan, City of Long Beach

Meredith Reynolds, City of Long Beach Department of Parks, Recreation & Marine Stephen Scott, City of Long Beach Department of Parks, Recreation & Marine Mayor Robert Garcia, City of Long Beach Vice Mayor Rex Richardson, City of Long Beach Brian Ulascewski, City Fabrick Alex Jung, City Fabrick

## **Urban Design Award**

# Healdsburg Citywide Design Guideline

Maya DeRosa, AICP, City of Healdsburg Barbara Nelson, City of Healdsburg (Retired) Nore Winter, Winter and Company Brad Johnson, Winter and Company Marcia Klopf, Winter and Company

#### Academic Award

### **SMART Parks: A Tookit**

Anastasia Loukaitou-Sideris, Department of Urban Planning, UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs Kelsey Jessup, UCLA Luskin Center for Innovation Kyra Gmoser-Daskalakis, UCLA Connor Hum, UCLA Rebecca Ferdman, UCLA